MANUELA LUCHTMEIJER – painter / artist

Manuela Luchtmeijer was born in the Netherlands where she grew up in the 70s and 80s, her nose in books, a pencil in her hands and her head in the clouds (while having her feet firmly planted on the ground). Her dreams and ambitions brought her to France at the age of 19, where she combined a training in visual arts (notably at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris) with studies of Japanese at INALCO. Polyglot and versatile, Manuela first made a career in the world of translation, giving her the opportunity to travel all around the world and to meet people who still inspire her today.

In 2004 she decides to follow her heart, resigns and has devoted herself since to her artwork and graphic design in her studio in Montmartre. In 2006 Manuela organized her first solo exhibition in a gallery in Paris and is having shows regularly since. Today her works can be found with collectors all over the world.

ARTIST'S APPROACH

In my artwork I favor purity and stylization, seeking to bring my subject back to the essential. My way of drawing is inspired by Chinese and Japanese calligraphy, whose fluid gestures can also be found in my painting techniques . My works, often presented in the form of a series, develops a vision that is narrative as well as symbolic and imaginary, proposing several layers of lecture, navigating freely between abstraction and figuration.

I seek to develop a poetic language and feed my universe not only with my own experiences and dreams but also by exploring themes of nature, mythology, literature, and human relationships (or conditions).

MANUELA LUCHTMEIJER – peintre / plasticienne

Manuela Luchtmeijer est née aux Pays-Bas ou elle grandit dans les années 70 et 80, le nez dans les livres, un crayon dans les mains et la tête dans les nuages (tout en ayant les pieds bien ancrés au sol). Ses rêves et ambitions l’ont amenée en France à l’âge de 19 ans ou elle combina une formation en arts plastiques (notamment à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts à Paris) avec des études du japonais à INALCO. Polyglotte et polyvalente, Manuela a d’abord fait carrière dans le monde de la traduction lui donnant la possibilité de voyager dans des pays lointains et de faire des rencontres qui l’inspirent encore aujourd’hui dans sa création.

En 2004 elle décide de suivre son coeur, démissione et se consacre depuis à la création et au graphisme dans son atelier à Montmartre. En 2006 Manuela a organisé sa première exposition personnelle dans une galerie à Paris et elle expose régulièrement depuis. Aujourd’hui ses œuvres se trouvent chez des collectionneurs dans le monde entier.

DÉMARCHE ARTISTIQUE

Dans mes créations je privilégie l’épuration et la stylisation, cherchant à ramener mon sujet à l’essentiel. Mon trait en dessin est inspiré par la calligraphie orientale, fruit de mes années d’études de la langue japonaise. Ma peinture, souvent présentée sous la forme d’une série, développe une vision tant descriptive que symbolique et imaginaire, proposant plusieurs couches de lecture, naviguant librement entre abstraction et figuration.

Je cherche à développer un langage poétique et alimente mon univers non seulement de mon propre vécu et de mes rêves mais aussi en explorant les thèmes de la nature,  la mythologie, la littérature, et les relations (ou les conditions) humaines.