français  english  français  mel

white ladies

White Ladies are the stuff of legend and mythology in several European countries, including the Netherlands, where the artist was born.

from natural phenomena...

Diaphonous and diffuse figures floating in woods or near lakes, often at dusk; these apparitions are White Ladies. The explanation given is that layers of mist form near the ground and then glide amongst the trees, moving and wandering on the air until daybreak comes and they evaporate.

…to nordic legends

“Witte Vrouwen” (or “Witte Wieven” in popular language) first appear in the Germanic peoples in ancient history. They were real people, much respected for their gifts of clairvoyance, and the priestesses of the tribe were chosen from among their number. The adjective white (“witte”) did not refer to their colour but rather to their wisdom, the verb “wissen” or “weten” signifying knowledge. After her death, a white lady’s memory was honoured on her burial mound. It was said that the white figures that seemed to roam around these places were their kindly ghosts come to watch over the people.

Over several centuries white ladies became the ambiguous heroines of all sorts of legends that vary from region to region.

In the middle ages, with the advent of Christianity the interpretation of the apparitions of white ladies changed: they were seen as the spawn of sorcery and their machiavellian powers were feared or revered. The Church denounced these pagan beliefs for several centuries and persecuted their followers.

Yet the White Lady has survived and continues to haunt or enchant our nights and our dreams...

the artist's approach

In her series Manuela Luchtmeijer evokes a night in the northern mists. The first apparition floats in violet twilight lit by the moon; as darkness gathers the forms become more definite, the waverings take on a bluer hue. Eventually dawn and daybreak bring the return of colour. As she evaporates the white lady gives her final message of hope: I shall uphold. *

Each painting harbours a triple reference: it evokes a particular legend, a moment of this misty night, but is also and above all a metaphor for an event or phase in the artist’s life.


* "I shall uphold" ("Je Maintiendrai") is also the motto -in French- of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

français  english  français  mel

dames blanches

Les Dames Blanches nourrissent les légendes et la mythologie de plusieurs pays d’Europe, dont les Pays-Bas, où Manuela Luchtmeijer est née.

du phénomène naturel...

Des formes opalescentes et diffuses qui semblent flotter, dans les bois ou près des étangs, souvent au crépuscule : ce sont les Dames Blanches. On les explique par des nappes de brume qui restent près du sol et se glissent entre les arbres, errantes et mouvantes, au gré des convections de l’air, jusqu’au lever du jour et leur évaporation.

...aux légendes nordiques

Les “Witte Vrouwen” (ou “Witte Wieven” en langage populaire) apparaissent au sein des peuples germaniques au cours de l’antiquité. Ce sont des personnes réelles, très respectées en vertu de leurs dons de clairvoyance, parmi lesquelles on choisissait les prêtresses de la tribu. L’adjectif “blanche” (“witte”) ne fait alors pas référence à la couleur, mais à la sagesse, le verbe “wissen” ou “weten” signifiant “savoir”. Après leur mort, on honorait leur mémoire sur les tumulus où elles étaient ensevelies. On racontait alors que les formes blanches qui semblaient rôder autour de ces lieux étaient leurs fantômes bienveillants continuant à veiller sur leur peuple. Des siècles durant, la dame blanche est l’héroïne ambiguë de toutes sortes de légendes qui diffèrent selon les régions.

Au Moyen Âge, avec l’avènement du christianisme, les interprétations des apparitions de dames blanches connaissent une métamorphose : elles sont le fruit d’une sorcellerie et leur pouvoir machiavélique est craint ou vénéré. L’église dénonce cette croyance païenne durant plusieurs siècles et persécute ses adeptes.

La dame blanche a survecu malgré tout et continue encore aujourd’hui à hanter ou enchanter nos nuits et nos rêves...

démarche de l’artiste

Manuela Luchtmeijer évoque dans sa série une nuit dans les brumes du nord. Une première apparition plane dans une pénombre violette éclairée par la lune ; à mesure que l’obscurité se fait plus profonde, les formes sont plus tranchées, les frissons plus bleus. Enfin, l’aurore et le lever du jour ramènent la couleur. Dans son évaporation, la dame blanche livre son ultime message d’espoir : “Je maintiendrai”.*

Chaque tableau recèle une triple référence : il évoque à la fois une légende particulière, un moment de cette nuit nébuleuse, mais est aussi et surtout, la métaphore d’un événement ou d’une phase de la vie de l’artiste.


* “Je Maintiendrai” (en français) est également la devise  du royaume des Pays-Bas.